
  
 
 
 

 
CHAPTER XXX 

 
 

NON-CRIMINAL DISPOSITION ENFORCEMENT BY-LAW 
 
 

30-1 Violations  of the provisions of the Board of Health’s  “Regulations Restricting Youth Access 
to Tobacco” may be enforced as provided for in the Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, 
Section 21D.  The designated enforcement officers of those regulations shall be the agents of the 
Board of Health.  Said agents, as an alternative to initiating criminal proceedings, may give to the 
offender a written notice to appear before the clerk of the district court having jurisdiction thereof 
at any time during office hours, not later than twenty-one days after the date of such notice.  Such 
notice shall be in triplicate and shall contain the name and address, if know, of the offender, the 
specific offense charged, and the time and place for his required appearance.  Such notice shall 
be signed by the enforcing person, and shall be signed by the offender, whenever practicable in 
acknowledgement that such notice has been received.  The notice shall be served and all the 
procedures followed as setout in said Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, Section 21D, as 
amended. (Art. 33, 5/6/2003) 
 
30-2 Violations of the provisions of section R-11: Food Code of the Board of Health’s Rules and 
Regulations may be enforced by the Health Agent by a non-criminal complaint pursuant to the 
provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, Section 21D. Each day a violation exists 
shall constitute a separate violation.  When enforced through non-criminal disposition, unless 
otherwise specifically provided for by bylaw, rule or regulation, the penalties shall be as follows: 

 

First violation: $25.00  

Second violation: $50.00  

Third and subsequent violations: $200.00  

 
(Art. 27, 5/4/2010 ~ 2) 


